Wednesday, January 28, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday (127)



Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine that allows bloggers to share which books we are most anticipating.
This week I am waiting on The Replaced by Kimberly Derting (04/28/15):

Description on Goodreads:
Romantic and action-packed, The Replaced is the gripping second installment in the Taking trilogy.

Kyra hasn't been the same since she returned from her mysterious five-year disappearance. Now, on the run from the NSA, Kyra is forced to hide out with others who, like her, have been Returned. Yet she is determined to find Tyler, the boy she loves who was also abducted—all because of her. When her group intercepts a message that Tyler might still be alive but is in the hands of a shadowy government organization that experiments on the Returned, Kyra knows it's a risk to go after him. What if it's a trap? And worse, what if the returned Tyler isn't the same boy she lost?

Perfect for fans of The Fifth Wave and the Body Finder series, The Replaced is both chilling and explosive, with creepy, otherworldly elements and twisty, psychological thrills that will have you questioning what exactly it means to be human.
Why I’m Waiting:
I just can’t get enough of Kimberly Derting. Was The Taking my favorite book of hers? No. Was it still action packed, loaded with romance, and full of darkness? It so was. It’s a little more sci-fi than she’s gone before, and I’m more than okay with this. I also just have so many questions left over from book 1. This is a definite sci-fi cover now too, which I think I like a lot more than her first cover in the series (which had a lot of insects on it). Also, is it just me, or are a lot of books coming out in April?
What are you waiting on this week?

Monday, January 26, 2015

A Good Week in Books (98)


Yay for new books! I received a nice pile for review this week. And I purchased one at a book sale. I almost had a book every day every day I came home from work. And there’s nothing quite as good as coming home to new books waiting at your door. Thank you Hachette and Macmillan for such lovely books!

I’ll Meet You There
by Heather Demetrios
Fairest by Marissa Meyer (!!!)
Beastkeeper by Bat Hellisen
Finding Serendipity by Angelica Banks
The Zodiac Legacy: Convergence by Stan Lee
The Eternity Cure by Julie Kagawa
How was your week in books?

Thursday, January 22, 2015

The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, and Maureen Johnson


Summary (from Goodreads):
Fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices can get to know warlock Magnus Bane like never before in this collection of New York Times bestselling tales, in print for the first time with an exclusive new story and illustrated material.

This collection of eleven short stories illuminates the life of the enigmatic Magnus Bane, whose alluring personality, flamboyant style, and sharp wit populate the pages of the #1 New York Times bestselling series, The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices.

Originally released one-by-one as e-only short stories by Cassandra Clare, Maureen Johnson, and Sarah Rees Brennan, this compilation presents all ten together in print for the first time and includes a never-before-seen eleventh tale, as well as new illustrated material.
Review:
This book was magical. Seriously, there are no better words. I have read and loved Cassandra Clare’s books. And while reading these books that I love, I often stopped to think about how wonderful it would be for Magnus to have his own book. For those of you who don’t know, Magnus is flamboyant, fashion-crazed, kind-hearted warlock who has been alive for centuries. He’s bisexual and has hinted at many different romances in Clare’s earlier series. Now, I finally got to see some of these romances. I got to see Magnus become the warlock that he is in the last of the Mortal Instruments books, and it is such a fun journey.
If you are a fan, you know that these stories about Magnus could be anything but dull. The man goes for hot air balloon rides around Paris, he rescues Marie Antoinette, and he falls in love with men, women, shadow hunters, and vampires. He has adventures on pirate ships, he’s on the forefront of wars, revolutions, and peace treaties, and he helps (much as he doesn’t think he does) so many people.
Not all the stories are equally good. I think I actually liked the first couple of stories and then the last couple of stories the best. I loved his role in the French Revolution, but I loved even more getting to see his first date with Alec. There’s moments with Alec, with Camile, with Tessa, with all the Herondales, and with so many other characters I know and love.
Also, I love that Sarah Rees Brennan and Maureen Johnson helped with the stories. These are three of my all time favorite YA authors, and how often do you get such a fantastic mixture in one? While I have always loved Magnus, since the first book, I finally feel as though I might understand him a little bit better. And I love him even more. He is just such a rich, interesting, deep, and hilarious character. I would read 11 more stories about him if more were to be written.
I do get that not everyone loves Cassandra Clare, and I have noticed quite a bit of anger toward her online recently. Most of it is in regards to her continuing to write books in this universe and “milking” it for as long as she can. There has only, so far, been one book out of the now 10 books in this universe that I didn’t absolutely love. So, I guess, if they continue to be good stories, I can’t complain about the same universe. She doesn’t always write about the same characters, and I think it’s characters that she most excels at writing. So, everything does read rather uniquely to me. Why not keep writing in a setting where supernatural creatures exist and shadow hunters are there to fight the demons?
I guess the main thing I wanted to say in regards to the hate I’ve been reading is this: everyone is entitled to their own opinion (I’m all for free speech), but I do think you should read a book before expressing so much anger toward it. Or at least, explain why you stopped reading it. I don’t always like the books everyone else likes. And vice versa, people don’t always agree with my tastes either. However, I don’t give my opinion/tastes/reviews on books I haven’t read. And also, I thought I’d throw in; there are some male authors out there who have written more than 10 books in the same universe, and I don’t see them receiving quite as much anger for it. Why can’t an author (male or female) keep writing in the same universe and maintain their success?
All in all, I loved this collection of short stories. Magnus Bane is just such an interesting character. His adventures were equally interesting. And I’m really glad these three authors decided to do this. I give it a 10/10.

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday (126)


Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine that allows bloggers to share which books we are most anticipating.
This week I am waiting on Dream a Little Dream by Kirsten Gier (04/14/15):


Description on Goodreads:
Mysterious doors with lizard-head knobs. Talking stone statues. A crazy girl with a hatchet. Yep, Liv’s dreams have been pretty weird lately. Especially this one where she’s in a graveyard at night, watching four boys perform dark magic rituals.

The really weird thing is that Liv recognizes the boys in her dream. They’re classmates from her new school in London, the school where’s she’s starting over because her mom has moved them to a new country (again). But they seem to know things about her in real life that they couldn’t possibly know, which is mystifying. Then again, Liv could never resist a good mystery.
Why I’m Waiting:
There’s going to be another Kerstin Gier book! I absolutely loved her Ruby Red Trilogy. Her books are some of my all time favorite YA time travel books. Her suspense and mystery is always good. Her characters are excellent. Her romance is great. And her sense of humor is wonderful. While this new book (to be honest) sounds a lot like other YA paranormal romance storylines I’ve seen before, I know it will be great. There is no way her new book won’t hold on to all her amazingness. Also, that cover!

What are you waiting on this week?

Tuesday, January 20, 2015

Challenge: Re-Read 2015

Re-read 2015
 
Every year, I participate in one reading challenge (besides my Goodreads one, which is just to read a certain amount of books total). In the past, I have participated in the challenges other bloggers have created and I have participated in my own.
This year, I’m following my own path again. I came to realize that last year, I only had the chance to re-read one book. I used to re-read books all the time. In fact, I factor in my likelihood of re-reading when purchasing books. It’s just so hard to justify re-reading books when there are so many new books I haven’t read yet.
That is why this year, I am challenging myself to re-read at least 15 books. They can be any books I want. And as you can probably gather from my picture, I plan on re-reading the whole Harry Potter series because I don’t believe I’ve re-read them in years –and that’s half of my challenge!
Now, you know why you will be seeing a bunch of re-read reviews. I’m so looking forward to this!

Monday, January 19, 2015

A Good Week in Books (97)


I had a nice, little book week thanks to Macmillan and Hachette. I received 3 new finished books for review. One is a new one I haven’t heard a lot about, but sounds amazing. One will be a re-read of a book I loved when I was a kid. And the last one is actually a compilation of comics.

When by Victoria Laurie
Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt (40th Anniversary Edition)
Dogs Are People, Too by Dave Coverly
How was your week in books?

Friday, January 16, 2015

Best of 2014 Giveaway


Last week, I posted my favorite books of 2014. This week, I’d like to give two of them away. This contest is open to all my followers, international and otherwise (as long as Amazon or The Book Depository can ship to you).
The winner has 48 hours to respond to my email with their 2 choices and their shipping address, or I’ll have to randomly select a different winner.
The Winner can choose any two of the following books:













Afterworlds
by Scott Westerfeld
I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson
Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins
Sinner by Maggie Stiefvater
Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson
Breathe, Annie, Breathe by Miranda Kenneally
Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor
Cress by Marissa Meyer
Unmade by Sarah Rees Brennan
Falling into Place by Amy Zhang
The One by Kiera Cass
Glory O’Brien’s History of the Future by A.S. King
The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith
To read more about the books, click here (and see my original post of the Best Books of 2014).

Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway